WEAMEC, Marine Renewable Energy

the gateway for stakeholders to the Research, Education and Innovation network in Pays de la Loire, French region

Boost your research and innovation projects

Expert in Marine Renewable Energy (MRE)

WEAMEC draws up a synthesis report of the issues in the sector throughout the year

Discover our synthesis

What is WEAMEC ?

WEAMEC (for West Atlantic Marine Energy Community) federates the Marine Renewable Energy (MRE) ecosystem of “Pays de la Loire” French Region in the fields of Research, Education and Innovation activities.

WEAMEC and its members have established a “Research and Innovation” roadmap, a “Training” roadmap and an International Strategy.

WEAMEC brings together around thirty institutions and research laboratories (such as Centrale Nantes-French Engineering schools, Université de Nantes-French University, “Jules Verne Research Institute”, EMC2 cluster…) and more than 75 partner companies and SME’s at the regional level. More than 220 companies at the French and international level collaborate with the academic and industrial stakeholders of WEAMEC.

The skills of these stakeholders, coupled with structuring testing facilities, has led to over 500 Regional, National and European projects for a portfolio of more than 100 M€ for the regional stakeholders over the [2015-2020] period. Amongst the academic partners more than 300 engineers and researchers are involved in research corresponding to 180 full-time equivalent positions. The calls for projects operated by WEAMEC enabled the selection of more than 50 research projects to be co-funded between 2016 and 2020, for a global budget of more than 10 M€, involving 24 academic institutions and regional laboratories, about 20 SMEs and 10 industrials.

The WEAMEC ecosystem also offers a wide range of training courses required for the Marine Renewable Energy (MRE) industry, both in initial training and continuing training from operator to engineer. WEAMEC’s vocational training program is aimed at companies already established in the Marine Renewable Energy (MRE) market and wishing to improve their skills, as well as companies wishing to develop their Marine Renewable Energy (MRE) activity, and people wishing to retrain and benefit from the opportunities offered by this sector.

WEAMEC is an efficient gateway to quickly identify a partner, a skill, a test facility… for your research and innovation projects or training.

WEAMEC is funded by the Pays de la Loire region, Europe (FEDER), CARENE and Nantes Métropole.

More information

WEAMEC, Énergies Marines Renouvelables

Porte d’entrée du réseau des acteurs en Recherche, Formation et Innovation des Pays de la Loire

Misez sur la formation de vos équipes

Expert des Energies Marines Renouvelables (EMR)

WEAMEC réalise un travail de synthèse sur les enjeux du secteur tout au long de l’année.

Découvrez nos synthèses

WEAMEC c’est quoi ?

WEAMEC (West Atlantic Marine Energy Community) fédère l’écosystème des Énergies Marines Renouvelables (EMR) des Pays de la Loire dans les domaines de la Recherche, de l’Innovation et de la Formation.

WEAMEC et ses membres se sont dotés d’une feuille de route « Recherche et Innovation », d’une feuille de route « Formation » et d’une Stratégie internationale.

WEAMEC regroupe une trentaine d’Établissements et de Laboratoires de Recherche (dont Centrale Nantes, l’Université de Nantes, l’IRT Jules Verne, le pôle EMC2,…) et environ 75 entreprises partenaires au niveau ligérien. Plus de 220 entreprises au niveau français et international collaborent avec les acteurs académiques et les entreprises du WEAMEC.

Les compétences de ces acteurs, associées à des moyens d’essais structurants, permettent d’opérer plus de 500 projets Régionaux, Nationaux et Européens, pour un portefeuille de plus de 100 M€ pour les seuls partenaires ligériens sur la période [2015-2020]. Environ 300 Ingénieurs et Chercheurs sont impliqués dans ces travaux, uniquement chez les partenaires académiques, ce qui correspond à 180 personnes travaillant à temps plein. Les appels à projet opérés par WEAMEC ont permis de sélectionner et de cofinancer entre 2016 et 2020, plus de 50 projets de recherche pour un budget global de plus de 10 M€,  impliquant 24 établissements académiques et laboratoires régionaux, une vingtaine de PME et une dizaine de grandes entreprises. 

L’écosystème WEAMEC propose également une grande diversité de formations nécessaires aux métiers de la filière des EMR, à la fois en formation initiale et continue de l’opérateur à l’ingénieur. La formation continue WEAMEC s’adresse à la fois aux entreprises déjà implantées sur le marché des EMR, et qui veulent se perfectionner, comme aux entreprises qui souhaitent développer leur activité EMR, ainsi qu’aux personnes qui souhaiteraient se reconvertir et bénéficier des opportunités offertes par ce secteur.

WEAMEC est une porte d’entrée efficace pour vous permettre d’identifier rapidement un partenaire, une compétence, un moyen d’essai… pour vos projets de recherche et d’innovation, ou une formation.

WEAMEC est financé par la région Pays de la Loire, l’Europe (FEDER), la CARENE et Nantes Métropole.

En savoir plus